• Address P O BOX. 2305, Salalah – 211, Oman
  • Phone (00968) 23235700
  • mail contactus@indianschoolsalalah.com

The 2023 edition of CBSE Oman Cluster Football tournament was kicked off on Friday morning, the 13th of October 2023. The event was hosted by Indian School Salalah at their premises. Along with the host school, there were another 10 teams from Indian schools affiliated to CBSE across the Sultanate participating in it.

The formal proceedings commenced with the national anthem of Oman and India and an enthralling welcome song by the school choir. The oath taking ceremony was administered by school Principal Mr. Deepak Patankar and duly taken by all the participating players. Mr. Mohammad Jabir Shareef, Chairman, CCA & sports sub-committee, (SMC) welcomed the august gathering while the chief guest Mr.Yaser Mohammed M.V., Vice-president, School Management Committee inaugurated the tournament by declaring it open and later kicked off the ball for the start.. As a token of love and gratitude, a memento was presented to the chief guest Mr.Yaser Mohammed M.V.

The first-round knockout matches were played in the morning. In the first match played between Indian School Al Mabela and Indian School Nizwa, the former defeated their opponent with a score of 6-2. In the second match, Indian School Salalah knocked out Indian School Bousher (3-0) and Indian School Wadi Kabir defeated Indian School Seeb (2-1) in the third match.

The quarter finals were lined up in the evening. The matches were played as follows: Indian School Sur Vs Indian School Al Ghubra, Indian School Muladha Vs Indian School Al Mabela, Indian School Darsait Vs the host school Indian School Salalah and Indian School Muscat Vs Indian School Wadi Kabir.

The semifinal stage began on Saturday morning, October 14 with Indian School Muladha taking on Indian School Darsait in the first match and in the second match, Indian School Muscat faced Indian School Al Ghubra. Indian School Muladha defeated Indian School Darsait (1-0) and made their entry to the finals whereas Indian School Muscat beat Indian School Al Ghubra 6-5 in a tie breaker and reached the finals.

After a nail-biting final match that was scheduled at 4.30 pm, Indian School Muscat won the most coveted 2023 Oman CBSE Football Cluster Championship, defeating Indian School Muladha with a 2-1 final score. The match was simply stunning as it offered beautiful moments of excitement. Both teams tried their best to win showcasing their excellent skill and performance.

The closing ceremony was graced by the chief guest Mr. Faisal Ali Al Nahdi, Assistant General Manager, General Directorate of Culture, Sports and Youth, Governorate of Dhofar. Dr. Abubacker Siddique, President, SMC welcomed the gathering while Dr. Shaji Sreedhar, Treasurer (SMC) introduced the chief guest. The chief guest Mr. Faisal Ali Al Nahdi, addressed the players and inspired them to show their talent in the true spirit of sportsmanship. He appreciated the management, and staff for giving adequate importance to games and sports. As a gesture of love and gratitude, mementos were presented to the chief guest Mr. Faisal Ali and Dr. Abubacker Siddique, President, SMC.

Mr. Mohandas L, HOD, Department of Physical Education presented the final report and Mr. Ishwar Deshmukh proposed the vote of thanks. The ‘Congratulations song’ by the school choir was a real encouragement to the winning team and other participants.

The best goal keeper award was bagged by Master Omair Hamza Abdul Hameed Of Indian School Muscat (was presented an i Pad) and the best player of the tournament award was presented to Master Muhammed Zirhan of (Indian School Muladha) (was presented a mobile phone). The third place was shared by Indian School Al Ghubra and Indian School Darsait. The trophies and medals to the winner (Indian School Muscat) and runners-up team (Indian School Muladha) were given away by the chief guest Mr. Faisal Ali Al Nahdi, Assistant General Manager, General Directorate of Culture, Sports and Youth, Governorate of Dhofar along with Dr. Abubacker Siddique, President and members of SMC escorted by the principal Mr. Deepak Patankar, Vice-principal Mr. Mammikutty, AVPs Mr. Vipindas and Mrs. Anita Rose.